Chargers Roster Down To 53: Who Made The Cut

17 QB Philip Rivers (Credit: Chargers/Mike Nowak)

The Los Angeles Chargers announced several transactions on Saturday, cutting down the roster to the mandatory 53-man limit with the following roster moves:


DL Patrick Afriyie
K Roberto Aguayo
TE Braedon Bowman
CB Tony Brown
WR Dylan Cantrell
CB B.J. Clay
LB Kyle Coleman
OL Chris Durant
CB Marcus Edmond
OL Zack Golditch
TE Je’Ron Hamm
S Micah Hannemann
DL Marcus Hardison
S A.J. Hendy
LB D’Juan Hines
DL Bijhon Jackson
TE Ben Johnson
WR Justice Liggins
FB Anthony Manzo-Lewis
WR Andre Patton
OL Spencer Pulley
CB Jeff Richards
DL Steve Richardson
DL Whitney Richardson
OL Trent Scott
QB Nic Shimonek
WR Nelson Spruce
CB Channing Stribling
P Shane Tripucka
RB Terrell Watson
OL Erick Wren


OL Brett Boyko
RB Russell Hansbrough
TE Cole Hunt


WR Artavis Scott


TE Hunter Henry

As a result of those transactions, here’s a position-by-position breakdown of the current 53-man roster:

Quarterback (3): Philip Rivers, Geno Smith, Cardale Jones

Running Back (4): Melvin Gordon, Austin Ekeler, Justin Jackson, Detrez Newsome

Fullback (1): Derek Watt

Wide Receiver (6): Keenan Allen, Tyrell Williams, Travis Benjamin, Mike Williams, Geremy Davis, JJ Jones

Tight End (2): Virgil Green, Sean Culkin

Offensive Line (9): Russell Okung, Dan Feeney, Mike Pouncey, Michael Schofield, Joe Barksdale, Scott Quessenberry, Forrest Lamp, Cole Toner, Sam Tevi

Defensive Line (8): Joey Bosa, Melvin Ingram, Brandon Mebane, Darius Philon, Damion Square, Isaac Rochell, Chris Landrum, Justin Jones

Linebacker (7): Denzel Perryman, Jatavis Brown, Kyle Emanuel, Uchenna Nwosu, Kyzir White, Nick Dzubnar, Hayes Pullard

Cornerback (6): Casey Hayward, Trevor Williams, Desmond King, Michael Davis, Craig Mager, Brandon Facyson

Safety (4): Derwin James, Jahleel Addae, Adrian Phillips, Rayshawn Jenkins

Long Snapper (1): Mike Windt

Kicker (1): Caleb Sturgis

Punter (1): Drew Kaser

Source: Chargers Website